The Jewel Wicker Show

Nick Jonas and Dylan Penn in "Chains" video

Nick Jonas and Dylan Penn in “Chains” video

Nick Jonas tries to break free from many literal and metaphorical chains in the video for his debut single.

“Chains” finds Jonas singing of feeling locked down by a relationship, but his girlfriend isn’t the only oppressor in the video.

Even though his lady literally handcuffs him and pushes him down in a chair, he decides she is worth fighting for.

Watch him force his way through a riot for his love in the video below. Continue reading

Repubic Records

Repubic Records

Lorde is all set to have a busy fall!

The singer has been tapped to not only create the lead single for the forthcoming Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Pt. 1, but also to handpick all of the songs for the entire soundtrack.

So far no other artists have been revealed, but I think it’s pretty safe to say we’re in for a treat based on previous Hunger Games soundtracks and the fact that Lorde has a pretty good ear for music!

In addition to pulling the soundtrack together, the singer will also embark on a North American tour starting in September, including a stop in Las Vegas for the iHeartRadio Music Festival.

Janelle Monae in "Electric Lady" video

Janelle Monae in “Electric Lady” video

What would you do to join a sorority if it’s emeritus members included T-Boz, Kimbra, Monica and other electrifying singers?

The ladies appear briefly in the video for Janelle Monae’s latest single “Electric Lady,” which the singer released this morning. The video centers around a house party thrown by Monae’s character and her sorority sisters. The Electro Phi Betas ladies dance and mingle with guests (including T.I.) before Monae ushers in a marching band.

The video does not feature Solange, who appears on The Electric Lady title track alongside Monae.

Still, the festivities are pretty fun to watch! Continue reading

DJ Kitty Kash

DJ Kitty Kash

Don’t get your hopes up. Willow Smith isn’t releasing a music project of her own, but the singer will appear on DJ Kitty Cash’s Love The Free II mixtape by way of a restrained cut titled “8.”

It’s hard to believe the talented singer is only 13 when listening to this new release as the maturity in her lyrics and vocals are well beyond that of a teenager’s.

Smith may not be ready to be in the music industry full time just yet (she’s still enjoying being a kid), but whenever she’s ready I think she’ll have a nice following hanging on to her every word. Continue reading

Young Turks Recordings

Young Turks Recordings

With just two weeks to go before FKA twig’s debut album LP1 is released on August 12, the project has sprung a leak.

In the midst of the leakage, the singer has officially released two new songs. There’s “Video Girl,” the woozy song about being recognized as “the girl from the video,” written by the singer after she appeared in visuals for popular stars like “Bang Bang” singer Jessie J (“Price Tag” and “Do It Like A Dude”).

Then there’s the industrial “Pendulum,” which is already available for purchase on iTunes.

The two different songs are tied together by one thing: FKA twigs’ feathery falsetto.

I haven’t heard the entire album yet, but I think it’s safe to say the “Two Weeks‘ singer is going to treat us to something special. Continue reading

Karen O in "Rapt" video

Karen O in “Rapt” video

If you were one of those people that heard Karen O’s Oscar nominated “Moon Song” from the Her soundtrack and immediately thought, “I wish she made more music like this,” you’re in luck!

The singer unveiled another subdued acoustic track, “Rapt,” earlier this week in anticipation for her solo debut album Crush Songs. The video for the song finds Karen O floating in a pool for nearly two minutes in a bright red dress.

“Rapt,” like the rest of the songs on Crush Songs was recorded years ago (around 2006/2007). In a handwritten note to fans, Karen O described the project as “the soundtrack to what was an ever-continuing love crusade.”

The album will be released on Sept. 9.

Continue reading

Florrie covers Kiesza's "Giant in My Heart"

Florrie covers Kiesza’s “Giant in My Heart”

Florrie dropped a pop gem of her of her own earlier this summer and now she’s taking on another artist’s work. The singer uploaded a cover Kiesza’s latest single “Giant in My Heart” to her YouTube channel yesterday after asking fans for cover suggestions.

This stripped down version finds Florrie playing the guitar and tackling the memorable male sample.

It’s a nice take on the house-infused dance track, although it doesn’t pack the same emotional punch. Continue reading

Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett in "Anything Goes" video

Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett in “Anything Goes” video

Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett’s latest jazz collaboration is just as dazzling as their 2011 version of “The Lady is a Tramp.” The duo released the video for their newest single “Anything Goes” today to promote their forthcoming album Cheek to Cheek.

Gaga and Bennett can be seen performing on stage and in the studio in the video, which is comprised mostly of behind the scenes footage from the two’s time together.

What better way to kick off a promotional run, really?

Cheek to Cheek will be available Sept. 23. Continue reading

Banks in "Beggin for Thread" video

Banks in “Beggin for Thread” video

Banks delivers more dramatic visuals for her latest dark pop release “Beggin for Thread.”

The mostly black and white video matchs the song’s intense lyrics, showing the singer interacting with a group of dancers, some of whom are completely nude. Extreme closeups of the dancers’ body parts only heightens the drama.

The video’s aesthetic is exactly what we’ve come to expect from the singer, who is scheduled to release her debut album Goddess on Sept. 9. Continue reading

222 Records / Interscope

222 Records / Interscope

Maroon 5 dropped off buzz track “It Was Always You” as a treat to fans as they wait for V to be released on Sept. 2. The synth and riff-heavy production feels more mature than the pop records the band has released in recent years, but it still holds on to the infectious elements that their younger fan base clings to.

If this is what V is going to sound like, it’s definitely a step in the right direction.

Also, is it me or does the album’s lead single “Maps” catch on more and more with every listen? (I still don’t fully get the lyrics, but it sure is fun to sing to!)

The iTunes Festival performers have said the forthcoming album will blend both their older and new sounds.

Continue reading

1 2 3 604